• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this considered insubordination?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I am a mid-level manager at a small (under 100 employees) company. I am directly responsible for 6 people in my department.

Each year, our company hosts an annual convention and awards presentation out of town. Several employees are asked to go, usually based upon their performance and seniority. The remaining employees remain in town to run the office as usual.

2 employees in my department were to remain and do their job as normal.

One of the two, who has had some disciplinary problems in the past, informed another department head (the assistant event coordinator) that she was going to the awards presentation, even though she had been instructed to stay in town and work and knew the event was by invitation only.

She never discussed with me that she had any intention of going and knows that she was not invited to attend due to past problems. She knew her responsibility was to the office, but she put her own personal wants ahead of the company needs. Instead, she E-mailed the president of the company and begged him to allow her to go.

I feel as though she undermined my authority by going "around" me to try to get what she wants, knowing that I would object to her going due to her past disciplinary problems.

Do her actions fall under the definition of "insubordination"? To me, by deciding on her own that she was entitled to go and actually leaving town and going to the party, she failed to perform her job duties as had been assigned to her.