• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongful Termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

AustinJBK

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

I was a hotel sales manager who was responsible for booking incoming business to increase/maintain revenue. On 10/30/08, I was given a written warning stating that I needed to increase my sales production. The written document stated that, on average, I should book (get signed contracts) at least $46,000.00 worth of revenue per month. It went on to say that my performance would be re-evaluated after six months. On 01/20/09, I was fired without warning for "lack of sales production".

This was not even three months after the company stated in writing that I had six months to improve. From the time that I received the written warning until the time I was fired, I had been meeting the company's self-imposed regulation requiring me to book at least $46,000.00 average monthly revenue.

The General Manager at the time had a confrontational management style and was trying to eliminate my salary to reduce expenses. Since my firing, that GM has also been fired by the corporate office due to complaints of improper conduct, cursing at employees in front of hotel guests, etc.

My question is this: Do I have grounds to file for wrongful termination? Also, does the GM's actions and firing strengthen my case?

The company is also trying to refuse me part of my earned benefits. They do not want to pay me the remaining 240 hours of vacation time that I had accumulated.

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Do I have grounds to file for wrongful termination?