• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Nurse laid off - questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

peggy williams

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law

I am a nurse in Florida. On Feb. 13, 2009 I was told, with no advanced warning, that I was being "laid off".

I was told I would get two-weeks' severence pay, and that my health insurance plan would abruptly end only 2 weeks' later, as of February 28.

Both the job and the insurance are vitally important to me.

Both my physician employer and my office manager wrote and gave me positive letters of reference.

Is there a possibility of bringing a lawsuit in my situation?

Thank you.

mlane58

I am a nurse in Florida. On Feb. 13, 2009 I was told, with no advanced warning, that I was being "laid off".

I was told I would get two-weeks' severence pay, and that my health insurance plan would abruptly end only 2 weeks' later, as of February 28.

Both my physician employer and my office manager wrote and gave me positive letters of reference.

Is there a possibility of bringing a lawsuit in my situation?

Thank you.
Lawsuit for what? unless you had a bona fide contract or were part of a collective bargaining agreement that stated that you couldnm't be laid off, then you are an at-will employee and can be terminated for any reason not prohibited by law (i.e. your race, gender, age, religion, etc...)

>Charlotte<

Lurker