• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is there a case?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sheabirdno1

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia, USA

I am a certified teacher in the state of Georgia. Last year, I resigned my position as a special education teacher at a local high school. It was an intolerable working environment. I had been accused by another teacher at the same school of making inappropriate statements to and around students. I denied the accusations. I received a letter from my principal stating that this was part of my file and warning me not to make such statements in the future. This letter stated that several staff members had reported this misconduct to him. I denied the accusations in writing, and asked that this letter be included in my personnel file I asked my principal to name the "several staff members" which he was hesitant to do. After some insistence on my part, he named the original accuser as well as three other staff members. I asked whether I was going to be fired from my job, because that would dictate what I would do next. My principal told me that I was not going to lose my job over this, and that I must remember to make certain I never repeat such action, etc. I assured him that not only had this NEVER happened, but also it never would happen, etc. When I asked him if this ended the matter, he indicated that it did.