• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

If you have a warrent out for your arrest...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

curious7

If you have a warrent out for your arrest in a state that you used to live in, but wasn't issued it until after you moved, what could you do? Could they get you no matter where you are? Could you ever go back to that state...even if a family emergency came up? HELP!!

C

chaisey25

I am by no means a lawyer but maybe I can help. Anytime there is a warrant issued, its usually issued on NCIC which is nationwide. Some smaller towns dont enter theyre traffic warrants or some misdemeanors on NCIC, but with the ever increasing technology, most do. If its a felony, you can be assured it will show up at any traffic stop or the such. If you get caught in the issuing state you will be arrested and taken to the issuing athourities. If your caught out of state you will be held on a fugitive complaint in that county pending an extradition hearing where you have the option to sign extradition papers giving the jurisdiction than wants you the permission to come get you at your exspense. If you dont sign, the court that is holding you will notify the athorities that want you to get a govenors warrant. The court that is holding you will give them a reasonable time to respond (usually 90 days). If theres no response, then they will release you on that matter. If the jurisdition that wants you can prove you left the state to avoid being arrested, they can also file another charge of flight to avoid prosecution. If its a violent crime or a drug crime they will get a govenors warrant whereas some white collar crimes or tickets they may not see it as being worth th