• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment benefits denial and confusing letter

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Shadax

I live in California and in December I had an issue with my workplace. I worked for a retail store in which I was a manager, but was terminated during the holiday season.

To make a long story short the chain of command above me is not the most professional. My managers have been in trouble for things ranging from using unauthorized vacation hours, stealing, and adjusting employees hours (against their hours worked) without their notice. My immediate manager started to dislike me for trying to straighten her out by reporting her negative actions to a higher up. It became an issue when I started to hear others say "she's trying to get rid of you." I guess I was intruding in her perfect little corrupt kingdom.

Early December I am working the store by myself and I am robbed at gunpoint. Very straight to the point, weapon in my face demanding money. I was fortunate enough to give him what he wanted and got him out of the store, and that's a whole different story. Safe to say I needed work and stayed with the company.

Anyway, a few weeks later I had a closing shift in which our front gate would not come down. I had to call a repair man who was over 2 hours away. I was terrified to stay in the store until passed midnight especially considering the previous circumstances!! So I had a loved one keep me company in the store, in cameras plain view, until he arrived.

I was terminated the following day for "having an unauthorized person in the store."