• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Veterinarian Malpractice or Abuse

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dgengler

To whom it may concern,
I am a resident of Omaha, NE. I took my miniature pinscher (birthday 3/17/2009) to a veterinarian clinic as of 7/14/2009 to have his ears cropped as of 7:30AM. The veterinarian had me sign a form stating that he cannot control prior health issues that may cause complications with anesthetic. I left the clinic and went to work. I called the clinic at 10:30 AM to check on the status of my puppy. At that time, the receptionist stated that the surgery went great and Doyle (my puppy) was awake and crying. I called again at 2:30 PM to check on Doyle's status again. For the second time, the receptionist stated that he was doing great and he was eating. When I got off work as of 5:00 PM, I went directly to the Veterinarian clinic to pick up my dog. However, Dr X stated that his temperature had dropped and they were trying to warm him up. I would be able to take him home in about a half an hour as of 5:20 PM. Doyle's condition as I arrived was very bad. His gums were nearly white, he could barely hold up his head, he was having a VERY hard time breathing as well as very cold to the touch. As I remained at the Vet's office, waiting on my puppy, his condition got worse as Dr X continued to fill Doyle with several different medicines. As of 7:30 PM, Doyle became completely unconscious as Dr X continued to give Doyle drugs and an I.V. The Vet continued to try to call other veterinarians for advise as he didn't know what else to do. As of 9:03 PM, Dr X advised me that Doyle was going to die and that I should put him down. As I was completely hyste