• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

step children - EMERGENCY

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tratter

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ca

I am the caregiver of an 80 year old male with mild to moderate dementia. His Step-daughter has recently entered the picture (I've been taking care of him for over a year and have never seen her until a week ago) and wants him to sign EVERYTHING house, bank accts. car etc. over to her on Monday (yes this Monday) He does not want to do this and we both fear that he will be promptly sent to a skilled nursing facility. What rights does he have what can I do to help him??

I'm not a lawyer. Seniors, please correct me if my answer's wrong

Nobody can be FORCED into signing anything. And with him already having dememtia, he would not be in the right state of mind to legally sign anything. STEP daughter is probably afraid that since she's a STEP child, she's not getting an inheritance from him when he passes.
:confused:
As I said above...please correct me if I'm wrong. I was just trying to give a quick common sense answer before Monday's deadline

Hot Topic

First thing Monday, see if your city has a department that provides services for seniors and tell them what she's attempting to do. They should be able to recommend an attorney that specializes in senior law. Or you could try to reach the Alzheimer's Association (the toll free number should be on the internet). I'm sure they've dealt with similar cases.

Under no circumstances should your charge sign ANYTHING. She cannot legally put him in a nursing home as a "punishment" for not turning things over to her when her "right" to those things is questionable.