• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pitbull

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ferghana

New Jersey-I am the landlord of a condo in Newark, NJ. My tenant has a pitbull. The management company tells me that they have been told by other tenants that this dog is dangerous and has chased children in the building and they are scared that the dog will bite someone and that any dog can be kept at the discretion to the Association. they would like to removed from the property as the owner is not in control of it. Is this true?

mihamih13

Hi, I'm not a lawyer. I used to rent though so I got familiarized with laws before that. I'm also not familiar with NJ law (maybe you'll get other replies as well).

What your association can do is written down in your bylaws and rules and regulations. No one can answer questions regarding what they can do without reading your docs because it varies from association to association. If I were you, I'd go and review my bylaws and rules and regulations and see what restrictions there are. In my association there is a pet weight limit on dogs for example which applies to both owners and renters.