• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help: Is this worth a small claims case??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nurse2012

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana

About 4 1/2 years ago I recieved a necklace as a gift from a close friend right after I my dad died and before I graduated from high school (it obviously meant a lot to me). About 3 months ago, I started hanging out with a guy from work (I stayed over his house) and the next morning when I woke up to get ready and leave, my necklace was tangled around my neck, so I took it off and sat it on the bed while I went to the restroom. I came back from the restroom grabbed my things to go and left without grabbing my necklace from the bed. As I was pulling away from his apartment, I text him and said "hey will you look in your bed and grab my necklace for me and bring it to work. I'll get it from you when I get there later." He replied back to me and said "got it...your necklace."

Well when I got to work later that day, he couldn't find my necklace. He said to me, "I had it in my pocket when I got here this morning, hold on, I'll check around in my office and see if it's there." He didn't have it, and he still can't find it. I have repeatedly asked him if he has found my necklace and he keeps telling me that he will replace it asap. He still hasn't found it nor replaced it.