• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What kind of defense do I have available?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Peggyhernandez7

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a nurse, and an ex-patient and I became good friends. He was interested in me, but I only wanted friendship, because I have been happily married for 24 years. He agreed to keep it platonic. A few months ago, he became jealous and upset with me. He went to my superiors at work and told them that I had accepted money from him and gifts. He tried to get me fired. I ended up getting suspended for 5 days without pay, and a reprimand in my file (luckily for me, I didn't get fired.) I never had any personal contact with him as a patient. My facility was not understanding about it, and the policy is very vague. He also went to my husband and told him I was having an affair with a coworker (which I am not). This caused quite alot of problems between my husband and I. All his allegations were proven wrong to my husband. Now, he has decided to take me to small claims court to sue me for using his credit card (he had me put on his account). He gave me permission to use his card, and never asked me to pay him back. Whenever I offered to make payments, he refused the money. He is currently stalking me everywhere. He is always watching me, at home, at work, at the bus stop.

Do I have any recourse? Can I countersue him for the 5 days of pay? Can I sue him for defamation of character or slander? I tried to get an injunction, but the court will not grant it, because he hasn't tried to hurt me. He just likes to watch me, apparently. What can I do? I need an answer soon. Thank you for listening.