• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Utility mix up

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Carmen Ohio

Hello, I live in Ohio.

A little background: I purchased my townhome in May of 2007 - it was new at the time in a new housing division and purchased from the home builder company. One unit contains 8 townhomes that are attached to each other. When I purchased the home, there were no problems with the inspections. Before I go into a lot of detail about the legal advice I'm seeking, I can summarize my problem simply: I have been paying the wrong power bill since May of 2007.

In mid-September of this year I came home from work one day without power. All my neighbors had power. I quickly call the power utility company to find out what was going on - my account was in good standing and power should be supplied to my house. After going through the basic troubleshooting steps with the circuit breaker I went out to where the power meters were outside.

As I mentioned before, one unit contains 8 townhomes. The power meters for the 8 townhomes are grouped together in a common area on the end of the unit. I notice that one of the 8 meters have a lock on the disconnect switch from the power utility company on it and the meter was not moving. It was labeled with a different address of mine. The power meter that is labeled with my address is working and supplying power.

I walked in front of the house of the address that was supposed to be disconnected and lights were on. I concluded that my power was being supplied by the power meter that was disconnected.