• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unfair termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

Prof

I hope this not too lengthy. I am a associate professor-research at a research center in Louisiana. I was brought into the center by the director of the center because he needed a molecular biologist to lead a project to discover new genes for a fairly prevalent problem that exists in America. I was told that I would be working on industrial money and that I was not to be concerned about writing for federally funded or state funded grants. I was also told that I would not be able to publish my finding for a number of years because of the proprietary nature of the work that I was doing. I was also "lured" into accepting the position because of the possibility of receiving royalties in the future. My previous position was an academic position where I had grant funding. I did not know what kind of person he was when I came to work at the center, but I soon found out that he was very controlling. Since I was a molecular biologist but not acquinted with the field, it took me about 6 months to get my head into the subject matter. At the end of my 6 month probation, the director evaluated my progress and gave a stamp of approval on my job performance. I was to receive a yearly performance review after that with the condition that if I did not perform adequately, I had one year to look for a new position. At this six month probationary review, he told me to focus on my project rather than be looking for ways to decrease my vulnerability at the center by finding projects to work on for which I could write grants. He would help me to get involved in projects as he saw fit. The next