• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My ex-wife has not refinanced the house

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dnsmalley

INDIANA:
My ex-wife and i have been divorced for almost three years now, and she has yet to refinance the house as the divorce decree instructed her to do, she is now apparently unable to secure refinance from her personal bank, but refuses to shop around with refinance companies... I am now wanting to buy a house with my new wife...but am unable to until that old house is out of my name. I am a veteran and have made large steps towards getting my credit score to a level where i can acquire financing...and have offered to take the house back over from her and refinance it myself...but she refuses to want to take the easy route, even though she cannot afford the house, and her continued unwillingness to explore her options for refinance are affecting credit decisions on my behalf...

What can i do to get my name off of that loan and protect my credit?

mistoffolees

INDIANA: