• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car in My Name, But Not Mine...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TimC1970

Okay, here we go...

I am a resident of California. Over a year ago I broke up with a long time girlfriend. While we were together she was driving a car I own and was/am paying insurance on. Once we broke up, she still had possession of the car and I was (and still am) paying insurance on it. Now, all this time later, she is still in possession of the car, which I am fine with, and I am still paying insurance on it, which I am not so fine with. Additionally, I am scared spitless that she could get into an accident, and since I am the legal owner of the car and am paying the insurance on it, I am going to be responsible for it.

I want to just get the car in her name, as does she, but here is the kicker...even though I am the owner of the car on paper, I do not have keys to the car, I do not have access to the car, I can do nothing with it. She has possession and control of the car, and wants legal title to it, and I want to give her legal title to it, but she won't get it smogged in order for the transfer to take place, and I cannot do it, obviously, as I cannot drive the car.

Is there any way I can renounce control and responsibility for this car without getting it smogged, which I am not able to do, and without doing the "just report it stolen" thing? I don't want the car...I just don't want to be held responsible for it should she mess up. I am very worried about this situation, as I am utterly without control, it feels like.

Any suggestions?

ecmst12