• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

idea theft

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

shaj

I am a Indian resident and lives in India, happened to contact a friend (Indian)by last week of Sep 09, who lives in California to get in touch with a patent holder whom I wish to associate for my new venture. The US patent has some relevance with my newly developed innovative business model.

As requested by my friend I explain the details and also the process involved in the venture. The detailing was done for him to communicate with the patent holders. As a first step I email a copy on the 4th Aug 09 of the patent so as he could use the address mentioned in the patent to start the correspondence.

Further to our discussion, as advised he wrote to the patent holders by an ordinary mail, within a week’s time they called and emailed to express their willingness to discuss the possibilities. Since there were two persons on the patent and they were at different areas within California they started of with a conference call and latter started to communicate via emails.

These correspondences were done between my friend and the patent holders. During this period all the copies of the mails were forwarded to me. Towards the first week of September they all decided to meet at one place and to discuss in detail. Before this meeting the patent holders have forwarded all progress they have made till date with their patent.

After listening to our business model they expressed their interest in associating. Based on this I suggested two options-either we pay royalty or they become partners in the venture. They opted for the partnership and it was agreed to a 10% for their patent.