• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Divorce in NC without my knowlege

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Blue_sky

I am a non US resident who got married to a US greencard holder in Sept 2008. We made plans to return to our home country as at sept 2009 as i was returning from canada where i was studying. I travelled to NC 5 times to be with him since Sept 2008 to May 2009.

On my last visit in May i was told that he wants a divorce no explanation

I have since return to my home country broken waiting for divorce papers which never came.

Last sat by accident i found a website with a bridal registry with his name and his son's mother's name. Apparently they got married on Dec19th. Unknown to his family. His family was shocked and when asked about it. He continually lied about it until they revealed the website.

My question is how can he divorce and remarry in 7 1/2mths. When we have not been separated for a year and i have not received any documents informing me of divorce proceeding. I was not even given the option to have a say.

We were married in NC and he got married in PA.

What can i do to get my legal documents and status sorted out. Can this affect me in any way in the future given that i have not signed for receiving paper. I need to ensure this has no longterm ramification as i have a professional career to protect. I don't know if he has commited bigamy or forged documents. I have to reapply for my US Visa June 2010 and i don't want any problems

Thanks

Ohiogal

Queen Bee