• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can i be fired for my religion?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

speedyfedie

fired for religion?

WI: i am a student and have a question that i would like answered. if my religion observes sat as holy days and religious doctrine forbids me from working on sat. i haven't worked a sat in this job for 6 years. can i be fired if i do not work on sat? thank you for your help.

B

buddy2bear

Religion and politics are touchy subjects.

If your employer wants you to work on your religious holiday, you can tell them that you are unable to and suggest an alternative -- either find a co-worker who usually has the day off and trade with them or work a day that you normally have off in exchange for having the Saturday off. Try to find a compromise if possible. If, however, you are unable to find a compromise, then you can file a charge of religious discrimination with the EEOC.

However, if the employer can prove that giving you your religious holiday is an undue burden on the employer, then you will just have to find a job that gives you that day off or stay there and work it.

A

Always searching