• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My Garage is now Landlocked!!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

unotredawe

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio
I had bought a house with an unattached garage and i have been using the garage for 6 months now and I took my girlfriend to work and then when I returned my neighbor had built a structure in front of my garage so that I can't enter or exit it now. Is this legal? He claims that it is his property. But this garage has been there since 1920 and now I can't use it because he owns 2 yards of space that I need to get in and out. That can't be legal. Thanks

Mass_Shyster

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio
I had bought a house with an unattached garage and i have been using the garage for 6 months now and I took my girlfriend to work and then when I returned my neighbor had built a structure in front of my garage so that I can't enter or exit it now. Is this legal? He claims that it is his property. But this garage has been there since 1920 and now I can't use it because he owns 2 yards of space that I need to get in and out. That can't be legal. Thanks
If you, or your predecessors have been using his land since 1920, you may have gained a prescriptive easement.

You need an attorney to determine if you have one, and how to prevent neighbor from blocking your access.

Kiawah

You didn't mention it, but there is some legwork that you should do. You should have your property professionally surveyed to know exactly where your property lines are. If your garage or access is indeed on their property, then review the language on both of your deeds to see if there are any previous easements.