• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Policy violation - but "just now being enforced"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bfish

My fiancee and I work for the same company, but at two different stores. I am an assistant manager at my store, she works in receiving in hers. Management and HR has always known about our relationship since we both started working for the company, telling us that as long as we are at two different stores, we are in the clear.

Today I got a phone call from my district manager, who was at the store where my fiancee works. He put me on speaker, with my fiancee in the room and two other witnesses, and proceeded to explain that HR has told him that "upper management" cannot co-habitate or be romantically involved with anyone else within the company". I asked how long this policy has been in effect, and he explained that it had "always" been in effect, but not enforced until recently.

In the employee handbook, it states that at the store level, management cannot co-habitate or be romantically involved with employees. I have always taken this to mean "within the same store". I have been in management for a year, and they were aware we were living together when they promoted me, and only now are they coming after us for this.

Our options are this: either I step down (take a pay cut) to a non-management role, or she resigns. What are my rights in this situation?

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

HomeGuru