• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Walmart wrongful termination off the clock

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Janier

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida
Ive been with walmart for 2 years as a pharmacy tech, my pharmacy manager asked me to come in earlier the day after easter to help finish paperwork for an audit. i came in at 7:30 am and parked by the parking lot lake where management decided was employee parking and when i said "goodmorning" to an assistant manager he screams at me in front of the customers to move my vehicle further down and i did so. 30 min later he fires me on insoburdination... other coworkers have noticed this managers attitude towards me in the last few months and believe it had to do with race being that i am the only hispanic in the pharmacy. so i had my pharmacy manager present in the office and he did agree to yelling at me and when i explained my case to unemployment they reviewed the information and denied my benefits-letter said"misconduct" not eligible for benefits. so i get screamed at for being a good employee and coming in early, parking in the designated area, and then get fired and denied unemployment.. anyone ever heard of justice??? i dont have money to proceed with a lawyer but i do know this manager was wrong and walmart should pay for backing up his actions. please give me some advice, i already filled an appeal with unemployment.

Last edited by a moderator:

pattytx