• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

irishpny

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I am a preschool teacher at a not for profit organization. We do not work full-time and have no union of benefits. I gave my resignation for the 2010-2011 school year recently to my employer. I had a verbal agreement to do a 6 week summer camp program at the school (I have do this for the past 10 years) and a couple of days after I was told that I could no longer do the summer camp because I was no longer on staff. As the school year that I was working is still the 2009-2010 school year and they will not allow me to work even though I was ready willing and able to can I collect unemployment for them not allowing me to work.

Thanks,
irishpny - NYWhat is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I am a preschool teacher at a not for profit organization. We do not work full-time and have no union of benefits. I gave my resignation for the 2010-2011 school year recently to my employer. I had a verbal agreement to do a 6 week summer camp program at the school (I have do this for the past 10 years) and a couple of days after I was told that I could no longer do the summer camp because I was no longer on staff. As the school year that I was working is still the 2009-2010 school year and they will not allow me to work even though I was ready willing and able to can I collect unemployment for them not allowing me to work.

Thanks,
irishpny - NYWhat is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
You resigned...

commentator