• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unemployement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

edawgii

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? VA

Good day,

I moved to VA 3 months ago from PA. I left a company in PA after 7 years of working for them to move to the Virginia Beach area. I had a job lined up before I moved. Ive been working in VA for the entire 3 months that I lived here. I have closing on a house tomm, (friday) and I was layed off this morning (thursday). I do not have to worry about a mortgage because my family is helping me. What would be my options for unemployment? Any advice please!
thanks
Eric

commentator

This coming Sunday, you file for unemployment in VA, since this is where you last worked. If they have a walk in unemployment filing system, use it. If they have a telephone system, use it. Use the internet system only as a last resort, because this claim is going to be slightly more complicated, a living human being will be a good option for you to talk to.
Be sure you put in your whole work history, dates and address of the employer you worked for in Pennsylvania will be needed.

You want to register for work and do your job seeking activities in VA, close to your residence, but you will be drawn a PA claim. You have been laid off, in other words let go through no fault of your own. So you should be able to draw based on your reason for separation from your most recent employer.