• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Confused about hiring a lawyer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

penstim

Florida .. injured cervical spine, employer and W/C helpful so far. Regular doc says surgery needed, seeing neurosurgeon tomorrow. I want to know if I should hire an attorney for future medical reasons, and if I should seek a settlement, as my injury will carry a disability.
Thanks!

E

Elliotg

I am an attorney practicing in the Greater Tampa/St. Petersburg area.

A settlement may be appropriate, but be careful. The w/c insurance carrier and your employer are only looking out for their best interests. Do not sign a settlement which will end you employer's obligation to provide for future medical treatment. While you may initially recover well from the surgery, complications may arise in the future. It is not at all unusual for the injured person to require several surgeries and/or expensive pain management treatment.

You should schedule a formal consultation with a lawyer. A good means of obtaining an attorney referral is by contacting your State's bar association or your local county bar association. They probably have a web site and charge a nominal fee for the referral. Most attorneys either provide a free initial consultation, or charge a nominal fee. I would be happy to meet with you. I do not charge for an initial consultation. I can be contacted by calling either 727/804-3609 or 813/758-1862.

Good Luck.

The above information is provided as a courtesy, without any consideration and without knowledge of the specific facts. Do not rely on this information. Seek a formal consultation with an attorney.

E

Elliotg