• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Discrimination Case?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sparkles504

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Louisiana

Hi everyone! I am asking your opinion on whether or not I have a discrimination case against my former employer. I have been employed with this company since 2002, when I graduated high school. It is a coffee shop in New Orleans. I have been with 3 different locations, but I've been employed at this location since 2004. The owners of this location took over in 2008, when the old owner sold it to them. They later bought the entire corporation. Under the old owners, I was co-manager, along with another African American employee. When the new owners took over, we were demoted to regular employees and they brought their own management in. The new manager told us that we were never managers, we just kept the store going until it was time for them to take over. Yet he would always come to me asking questions about how to do things around the shop. The customers would always say to him "Take care of our Brandi", and he would do a fake pat on the back and say "Don't worry we love Brandi". But I could sense it was fake. A few months later, the other former co-manager quit, which left me as the only African American employee there. When the new manager moved up to working under corporate, they brought in another manager, who was an open racist. She wanted the assistant manager to fire me because I was black. The assistant manager said she didn't want to because I was a good employee, and the only reason she wanted me gone was because I was black. The manager told her that is why she wanted it to be done by someone els