• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired for Cause only if I insist

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

hitech

I am a programmer in MA and after spending 1/2 days on Thursday and Friday, I come into work on Monday only to be let go. The email I received the next day follows and here is some background. I was told to report to John Doe who is the only other programmer. John Doe assigned me a development computer that also ran a company production job. John Doe supervised my EVERY action and helped to get past certain hurdles. John Doe was in over the weekend and claims something I did caused a program to run incorrectly. My computers error log showed no such error. There is a lot more. I have been in this business for close to 20 years using the latest technology at dozens of companies and something like this has never happened.

I have a contract that states I must be paid for one month if terminated without cause and nothing with cause. Comments would be greatly appreciated.

---
John Doe and I just spent a great deal of time going over what happened in detail.

As you know, you inadvertently did cause us harm via your actions with a loss to The Company in terms of time and money repairing the damages resulting from your actions. I think this is because of insufficient caution in entering into an new work environment, not knowing the culture, not knowing the intricacies of our technology, and not having the innate instincts to take it slow and with utmost care and caution.