• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongfully terminated

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stvmax

I was recently fired from a local grocery store chain, where I worked as a butcher. I was fired for eating a small piece of hamburger, which was at the end of a seasoned batch, it was too small to make a burger out of it so me and a co-worker who was also fired cooked a few small pieces from various batches, which would otherwise be thrown away. However the company knows this is an ongoing issue in the company and upper management wanted to make an "example" out of us. I have witness my immediate manager eat product without paying for it, and the store manager that fired me admitted to me when I was being fired that he too has done this. Is this fair?

Andy0192

is this fair?
Is it fair? That's up to you to decide.

Is it legal? Yes. They can fire you for eating on the job. Even if someone else did it and got away with it.

File for unemployment & look for a new job.

HomeGuru

I was recently fired from a local grocery store chain, where I worked as a butcher. I was fired for eating a small piece of hamburger, which was at the end of a seasoned batch, it was too small to make a burger out of it so me and a co-worker who was also fired cooked a few small pieces from various batches, which would otherwise be thrown away. However the company knows this is an ongoing issue in the company and upper management wanted to make an "example" out of us. I have witness my immediate manager eat product without paying for it, and the store manager that fired me admitted to me when I was being fired that he too has done this. Is this fair?