• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

firing a food handler for being sick

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kemperz

Hi there I work as a chef in a restaurant in british columbia cananda, my question is that
I took a couple of days off in the last couple of months for being sick, I didn't bring a
doctors note as it wasn't requested, and now my boss wants to fire me, I'm a food handler
and isn't it illegal to handle food while ill, if so wouldn't it be illegal for my boss to fire me
for being sick? I called in before my shift and let them know and it seemed fine untill now,
do I have any rights? Thank you

Antigone*

Hi there I work as a chef in a restaurant in british columbia cananda, my question is that
I took a couple of days off in the last couple of months for being sick, I didn't bring a
doctors note as it wasn't requested, and now my boss wants to fire me, I'm a food handler
and isn't it illegal to handle food while ill, if so wouldn't it be illegal for my boss to fire me
for being sick? I called in before my shift and let them know and it seemed fine untill now,
do I have any rights? Thank you
Hey, did the United States get bigger:confused::confused:

Where the heck was I when that happened:eek::mad:

Antigone*

Is this forum for the US only? If so any advice would be appreciated anyway.
You deleted the first line of the post that was meant to be a BIG clue for you. What is the name of your state (US Law Only).

My advice to you is to learn to follow directions.:cool:

pattytx

Darn canadians can't read!!!!!:p
Oh, are you gonna pay for THAT! :D