• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

extortion or what?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

unknown4890

I am a restaurant manager. A couple weeks ago money came up missing from our safe but we do not have significant proof of who did it. There was 3 different manager in and out of the safe in the 2 days I was off. I went on vacation the following week and when I came back there was more money missing. I contacted my DM who told me if I didn't pay it back I would lose my job. I couldn't afford to lose my job so we had a written and signed agreement for me to pay the money back in 2 seperate payments. I really felt threatened by this company. Is this legal or would it classified as extortion or something else I'm unaware of?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I am a restaurant manager. A couple weeks ago money came up missing from our safe but we do not have significant proof of who did it. There was 3 different manager in and out of the safe in the 2 days I was off. I went on vacation the following week and when I came back there was more money missing. I contacted my DM who told me if I didn't pay it back I would lose my job. I couldn't afford to lose my job so we had a written and signed agreement for me to pay the money back in 2 seperate payments. I really felt threatened by this company. Is this legal or would it classified as extortion or something else I'm unaware of?
Seems to me that this would be classified as an admission of guilt :rolleyes:

Beth3