• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Issues with education

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

studentnurse78

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY
I have been working for my employer for six years. In the fall of 2008, I began my education to become a registered nurse. I have been enrolled full-time since 2008 and have had a modified schedule that works around the days that I have class. This type of scheduling has allowed me to remain full-time at my job and full-time in school. Just recently, my employer has told me that I can no longer do this schedule or any type of modified schedule for the remaining semesters. They have given me little notice and I am wondering if I can sue them for this. They are forcing me to choose surviving or to drop out of school because of the amount of notice they have given me. I am currently a Licensed Practical Nurse and most facilities require an orientation period that my school schedule would not provide for. Is there anything I can do?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

swalsh411

You work when your employer wants you to work, not when you want to work. if you do not like the schedule you are of course free to find another employer who may be more willing to accomodate you. (and if you're a good employee, let them know this is why you are leaving).

eerelations

Agree. Absent a written contract, your employer is not breaking any laws. Ergo, you do not have the basis for a lawsuit.

Hot Topic