• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Constructive Discharge?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mskay56

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

I am a nurse, I was hired to work at a small jail in March 2010. One month into the job, I became ill and was out on medical for 6 weeks, the LPN that worked in my place while I was out sick obviously was a very close friend of the jail administration and upon my return to work, I learned that she had let a lot of things get behind at the jail. I did not report this to the company, it was reported by the manager at the jail where the LPN was assigned as a fulltime Nurse. I was called by Corporate to collaborate the report. The nurse was basically placed in the same position that I am now currently in,(not terminated, but no work) The Jail Administration was hostile towards me because they believed I was responsible for their friend not being able to work at the jail anymore, so they were not inclined to work with me, My company was aware of this. Anyway, to summarize, the Jail asked the company to remove me because" it was just not working" The company stated on the first day that they had no choice but to remove me because the jail administration was their client and it was their jail. I understand that part, but what I don't understand is how can my company not provide me work/or pay as a fulltime employee. I have a right to earn a living and the only contract I signed was the job offer letter. I need to know if I have a good case for a constructive discharge because the company had made it intolerable for me to work for them( they only have a open position 3 hours away now ) I am not being paid anything, the