• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Subpoena question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

formercop

I am a former police officer. I got served a subpoena by certified mail today, the 21st. The case is on Wednesday, August 25th. It is for a criminal case in my local Texas County. I planned to leave and go out of town on Monday and this is really throwing a kink in my plans. Is there a time limit on how long they have to give you? Five days seems short notice. Also I always thought that Rule 103 applied to this. I got the certified mail which contained the subpoena from the lawyer of the defendant, I thought only independent parties could serve a subpoena. Any help would be great. I know nothing about subpoenas and a lot about correct police procedure.

latigo

Perhaps I’ve overlooked it, but I don’t see anything in the Texas RCP authorizing service of a subpoena by mail, certified or registered. (It certainly isn't allowed in my state.)

Writs” and ”Processes”, yes (Rule 106), but the method of serving a subpoena is separately covered by Rule 176.5:

“Manner of Service. * * * * A subpoena must be served by delivering a copy to the witness and tendering to that person any fees required by law. * * * * “ (Emphasis added)

I’ll tell you what you might do. Call the attorney for the other side, explain no personal services - no witness fees - and ask if it is safe for you to ignore it.

formercop

I will do that. It just seems not right..lol I don't mind going to court it. I did not get any notice in this case and I have never recived one this way.

Tex78704

Rule 103. Who May Serve