• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Settlement Agreed to But Not Being Paid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

tedlesk

I sustained a knee injury on the job in 1997. I am a florida resident. In the early part of December, 2000 my attorney negotiated a settlement with the carrier to which I agreed to accept. In the early part of January, 2001 I signed all the necessary papers and he assured ne that I would have my money by the end of February. It is now mid April and I still have not received any monies due me. When I call my attornies office to inquire as to the status of the settlement I can't get a straight answer from him or his staff as to what is happening regarding the settlement. My question is, Is this a reasonable waiting period after the signing of the documents? Can I go somewhere on my own to find out what's holding the settlement up without running into a problem with my attorney of record? I am a retired senior currently out on Social Security Disability.

B

barry neumann

settlement

My disability rate is 20%( back injury), I was aked by the carrier attorny if I wanted to settle my case.
the question is how much of a settlement should I demand or if there is any rules or tables to how much to demand
thank you

B

buddy2bear