• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Reckless driving, 84 in a 40..

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mycrimekit

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maryland

Hello everyone! This is my first time even considering a forum like this for any advice so I'm hoping for the best to help me out. Please excuse the loooong post..

On 08/23/2010, I received two traffic tickets, both in excess of $500.00. The officers argument was that I was speeding (85 in a 40) and that I was driving recklessly. Apparently, I was pulled over by the police chief of Cumberland, Maryland. The Chief was driving an unmarked silver Cobalt.

I was driving to my first day of college. I started in Cumberland, MD and proceeded to interstate 68 heading east. When I got onto the interstate, I was attempting to merge with the rest of the traffic but it was difficult due to there being several vehicles in the lane I was attempting to merge with. To avoid being forced off the interstate and heading the wrong direction, I had used my turn signal and squeezed between a red Dodge Intrepid or Stratus (I believe). The man driving the Intrepid had slammed on the horn and proceeded to tailgate my vehicle. To avoid being harassed and accidentally being rammed into, I accelerated beyond the posted rate of speed. The man driving the Intrepid had decided to follow suite and accelerate to my speed as well.