• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

to dust or not dust

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mlee19841

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pa

I've been working for a company for two years and the the place I work for processes inolex chemials. It gets processed on a large sandvick machine and then drops into a bagger. When it drops into a bag its the size of small chips. I recently started getting real dry eyes after work. Their is no type of dust collectiion system attached to the machine . So the dust just drops on me from the bagger and we wear saftey glasses but still get in my eyes. Their is only two fans in the area blowing the dust around. It is rated a 2 on the msds book for health. And also on the label their is a warning that says avoid creating dust when making. Is their anything I can do to rectify the problem as in seek legal advise. I just don't want to wake up with lung cancer one day. Thanks for any help

Dave1952

According to the MSDS, Lexamine is irritating to eyes. Report your dry eyes to your supervisor. Ask for goggles instead of safety glasses. See if the extra protection of goggles fixes the problem. If you think that inhaled dust is a problem ask for a dust mask. Goggles and dust masks can be uncomfortable to wear. Is anyone else having "dust" problems?
But first give some thought to other causes of your problem. You've been exposed to this dust for 2 yrs. but your eye problem is recent.

Good luck

justalayman

here is a link to the MSDS for lexamine 13

http://msds.orica.com/pdf/shess-en-cds-010-000000031323.pdf