• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I sue a private university?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Momma Meistress

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a student at a private university attending online. I have completed all coursework for my undergrad degree, except the Practicum which includes an externship. The school has been unable to place me into an externship due to the competetion of local schools. I missed graduation in March 2010 because of this. I have been taking classes (repeating classes) to keep my financial aid intact and because the school insists that they will place me very soon. They have named companies that they have "verbal" contracts with to accept me. They have made it very clear that I will need to be available Mon through Fri from 7am to 5 pm in order to complete the externship, which is only 80 hours. I had to take classes again in Summer A and B sessions once again so that I will not have to start repaying the $57,000 in Stafford loans that I owe. Once you are not enrolled at least half-time, you must start repaying some of the loans immediately and others after a 6 month grace period. I applied for this externship back in September 2009, well before the application cut-off. They finally have a placement for me... however, we are now in week 7 of the Summer B session. The class ends next week. I made it very clear to them 2 months ago, that due to financial hardship I MUST go to work at the end of Session B. They are asking me to do an extension and just work at the externship a couple days a week till complete. Honestly, I have put off working since March to make sure I was available for when the externship wa