• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Hoggle35

NJ is where i live. I am the wife of a retired Aif Force member. My husband moved out the first week of July. We have 3 children one being under the age of 18 and all live at home with me. We were married for over 20 years. I am a manager of a hair salon and only make 16.000 a year. What kind of assistance can i recieve in getting legal seperation/divorced? :confused:What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

stealth2

Under the Radar Member
You can try legal aid, but I wouldn't count on that. So you'll either need to find an attorney willing to take your case on the chance that the court will order your husband to pay your legal fees or educate yourself on NJ divorce law.

You will get child support for the youngest child. You might be able to make an argument for temporary spousal support - but I would have a plan for how you're going to use it to create more income (i.e. going back to school). I doubt you will get permanent spousal support.

stealth2

Under the Radar Member
I don't know if any of your kids are girls, but I would be urging them to make sure that they get themselves to the point where they know they can support themselves and their kids on their own if needed.

Best of luck.

nextwife

I don't know if any of your kids are girls, but I would be urging them to make sure that they get themselves to the point where they know they can support themselves and their kids on their own if needed.

Best of luck.
I encourage that for either boys or girls!

mistoffolees