• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Failed to yield to emergency vehicle and display tag

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gar_rad

Hello,

I am a new driver and I bought a car 1 month back and got it registered in Kansas.

The license plate was little loose and on 21st of October when I was getting back from work, I removed license plate and put it in trunk so that it does not get lost. I also wrote "Tag applied for" in a paper and stuck it behind, so that people know that I have a tag. I thought I would go home and use a screw driver to tighten it. I am a new driver and have been driving only for past one month. Apparently when I was getting back home (on I-35), I saw a Kansas state trooper car with red-blue lights behind my car. I was not sure if he was trying to pull me over or some other car as I was well under the speed limit and on rightmost lane. At one point when I heard the siren, I pulled over to the shoulder. I pulled over late. I have had very clean driving records till now and now cop gave me 2 tickets
1. Failed to display tag - 8-133( and it says misdemeanor)
2. Failed to yield to emergency vehicle - 8-1530( infraction)

I was just too unfortunate that the cop who pulled me over was extremely rude too. Since I am a new driver and have owned the car for only a month, I was thinking if taking some defensive driving course would get this traffic ticket dismissed.

Thanks

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I was just too unfortunate that the cop who pulled me over was extremely rude too.