• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Accused of Theft by Deception

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

caper58

I worked as a used car salesman in Florida when a women who lives in Kansas was high bidder on an Ebay auction for an 04 VW Jetta in June 2009. She made a $500 deposit via Ebay and arrived at the dealership where she inspected the car and then agreed to purchase the car if we would have an oil change done before she left. She stayed over night while the service was completed, then the next day completed all of the paperwork on the purchase and left.

Once she arrived in Kansas she went to a dealership were she was told they wanted to do $2500 worth of work on the car. She then contacted me saying she wants me to pay the $2500, along with her airfare and hotel expenses in Florida and storage for the car until the work is performed. I pointed out she had inspected the car and the purchase contact which she signed states the car was sold "AS IS, with all faults is not covered by any dealer warranty" which is stated several places throughout the contract.

She has since somehow got the the district of Marshall county Kansas to file a warrant for my arrest for "Theft by Deception", a severity level 9 nonperson felony. I contacted the DA in Marshall County and explained I was just the salesman for the dealership which is incorporated and the car was sold "AS IS" as stated in the signed contract. The DA then told me if I would just pay the women what she wanted, the DA office would drop the criminal charges.