• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Accused of Assaulting a College DPS Officer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ABGolf

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Rhode Island

I'm an 18 year old student at Bryant University in Smithfield, RI. This friday I went out with some of friends to go to parties on campus. I did drink some beer, but I was in control of myself. We were leaving a house one of the parties were at and there was a large group of people gathering outisde the house. I started walking through the crowd and a Department of Public Safety (DPS) officer was walking into the house. Through the crowd I couldn't see her coming and accidentily hit her shoulder as I walked by. It was just a small bumb. She confronted me immediately and I quickly appologized and explained that I didn't see her, it was an accident and that I was sorry. She started to get in my face and was saying that she didn't appreciate that at all. She started asking me what my name was and where I lived. I got really scared and out of fear I lied to her and told her a false name, obviously not a smart move but I wasn't thinking clearly and I didn't want to get in trouble. I then started to run away back to my dorm room. After about 15 feet There was a sharp turn and I tripped and caught myself with my hands. The DPS officer ran after me and grabbed me by the shirt in the back. I continued to run for a second and then cooperated and let her subdue me. I was brought to the ground and cuffed. From there on I cooperated completely. She called the real police and I was arrested for Simple assault on the dps officer and disorderly conduct.