• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Court appointed attorney

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ed rattlehead

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? North Carolina. I could not afford an attorney so the court appointed me one. After my case was resolved the court ordered attorney charged me for his services, is this a common practice?, if so it kind of defeats the purpose. If I have to pay anyway then I should at least have the choice as to which attorney will sue me in open court for the services/showing up and saying "I am a lawyer". Hell, I could have done that and saved 400 dollars.

latigo

Tell your court appointed attorney to stuff his bill up his nose!

The information given is sparse, but you are obviously talking about defending criminal charges that upon a conviction could involve incarceration as punishment. Which are the factors that trigger your 6th Amendment right to be represented by an attorney. Thus, the court appointing the lawyer and supposedly at the expense of the county and not you.

quincy

I do not advise that you follow latigo's advice. :eek: