• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

CA: Divorce with me having more assets

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

clutchshooter

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello,

Unfortunately, I am going through a divorce possibility with my wife.

We has been married for about 4 years.

She has been a college student and supported by her parents for a while. (From a good and wealthy family). The last few months, she has been working full time with around $18/hour pay after graduation.

Myself, I am a professional banker, for about 10 years already, and I have savings , 401k, mutual funds , and a couple of brokerage accounts, which worth a lot. All of these accounts are under my own name. I also have a car under my name.

Her asset is her bmw car from her dad's gift and some savings under her own name (I can tell it is a few thousands).

The only assets under our joint names are the house (only a few thousands dollar worth of equities, and 400k loan) and a joint bank account with almost nothing in it.

I found her recently that she's been out and only came back for about a few nights a week. And, to make story short, accidently saw her with another man at a store.

Now, my question is what is the law in CA for my case? I feel like I am in a disadvantageous position with more assets. I certainly do not want to split 50/50 as I worked very hard for everything that I gained during the marriage.

How can I protect myself? I notice she might have been influenced by friends to take me to court for divorce and asset division (used to be very innocent girl)
Since CA is a no-fault state, so having her at fault and finding evidence about it won't help?