• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

repossession question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

miss B

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Louisiana
I am a louisiana resident and I purchased a vehicle in texas on 01/28/2011. I put $4000 down and had a car note of $363 for 24 months. The dealership states I would have to pay for tax title and license two weeks later which would be $800. I did not make that payment of $800 because I was not given clear information on whether or not I would get Louisiana plates or Texas plates. I also had a mechanical problem that they were suppose to work out for me but needed to get back to me on . I never got a response about the plates or the mechanical repairs. I did not mail the payment on 02/28/2011. on 03/12/2011 they came and repossesed the car. They are now not letting me reinstate the loan and want me to pay the full value of the car. Do I have any rights here or what can I do? I have tried to talk to them but they are not budging.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Louisiana