• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Customer refused to pay

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ckyiu516

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a manager at a furniture store in Northern California. I made a sale to a customer in January on a few pieces of furniture and it was delivered a week after purchase in Jan. Customer did not like two of the pieces and I offered to order new ones and replace it for him. At this point, customer still has $200 balance on the invoice for the furniture. I called numerous times to try to schedule a time to go over and replace it. Finally this past week, April 11th, he called and asked about the replacements. I scheduled it for this past Saturday April 16th, he still did not like it so I offered to replace it one more time or take it back so there is no losses in our part as well as his. I was very nice and calm throughout the whole process even when he became aggressive and used profanity over the phone.

This time, he refused to pay as well as let my delivery driver take back the furniture. I have a feeling that he just doesn't want to pay for it but I know I can't prove that.

My question is, what can I do legally and following all rules/laws to retrieve my furniture that he has not pay for?

Thanks in advance for all the help.

well, I would stop talking on the phone (ya rotten SOB lol) and send a demand letter asking for return of the furniture of the $$ for it.

If not acceptable, then small claims would be in order. You can ask for either cash (recommended) or the furniture back from the court.

You can write the demand letter .. your businesses attny would have to file the court papers and go to court.