• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Where do I file a 5k+ Claim against a company?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dboyle10

I would like to file a claim against a NY Company for breech of contract. I am a PA resident. I entered into an agreement for services and those services haven't been rendered. I would like to know which court and state should I file the $5,000+ claim in. Should I start at small claims court in NY or PA? Or because of it being more than $5,000 does it need to filed in a different court?

sandyclaus

I would like to file a claim against a NY Company for breech of contract. I am a PA resident. I entered into an agreement for services and those services haven't been rendered. I would like to know which court and state should I file the $5,000+ claim in. Should I start at small claims court in NY or PA? Or because of it being more than $5,000 does it need to filed in a different court?
It all depends on the venue issue on WHERE you can file (you don't just get to pick).

As far as which court level to file at, there is a limit to the amount you can file for in a Small Claims case. In NY most have a filing limit of $5,000, but some smaller town and village courts stop at $3,000. In PA, the small claims filing limit is $8,000 (except in Philadelphia, where it is $10,000).

Anything claimed over these jurisdictional limits you either waive to file in Small Claims or the case needs to be filed at the next higher level, which requires a lot more paperwork, has more process and procedures to follow, and which usually dictates having an attorney who knows how to get through the process.