• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

2nd Ammendment Slam

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

retiredcopper

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? This question pertains to NY state:mad:
I retired from a "shall issue" state Michigan that granted the CCW, permit to carry a concealed weapon. I was a prison cop or correctional officer and my life was on the line every day I worked! At least a cop in a car can be protected but I went every day with no weapon. We had to be weapons qualified though for squad duty and transportation runs where we took prisoners from one prison to another. We were armed with a sidearm then. In 17 years of loyal service I acquired some enemies inside and outside the prison because I lived in the town where I worked. When Michigan allowed lawful citizens the right to carry I took that invitation and got my permit. I carried off duty all the time.