• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Excessive Overtime in a Salaried Position.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

AFool

first off, I'm very tired, please forgive me if my text lacks spelling, or grammer...

Okay, I am a computer programmer in Los Angeles, CA. More specificly, a game programmer. In the game industry, we all get paid a fixed salary and generally work 40 hour weeks. (We = Computer Programmers and Digital Artists)

however, at any time it seems, management may say, "okay everyone, you have to work 12 hour days for the next 2 months"... often times this will include saturdays as well. I stress, it's not just this company, it's every company in the game making industry.

Since we're all on salary, they can have us work 12 hours a day, for 6 days a week with no extra compansation.

How is this legal?

I mean, it must be legal because the whole industry is doing it... but I'm (we're) more than a little burned out here, they already own the rights to anything I may say, think, sketch, or doodle on or off the premesis / before or after work hours. Now they've taken our personal lives as well. Wives are upset, Girlfriends walk away.

We make games because it's what we dream of doing... it's a lot of hard work, but it's work we like to do... but this is rediculous... they've made it a standard to take advantage of people who want to make games.

Please, someone tell me I can find a way to get my life back without leaving my industry.

B

buddy2bear

I'm a big Tombraider game player and I don't think you guys/gals are turning them out fast enough, so I think you should work 24/7!! LOL