• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Retailer's user agreement drasticly changed without any notifications.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

publicenemy#1

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Arizona. This is my first time posting at this forum. Basically, I purchased a playstation 3 at best buy 2 years ago. The sales rep told me that there is an optional 2 year extended warranty plan. In the event that the ps3 was to stop working, I would be able to take it back to best buy to swap it out for a new ps3 off the store shelve if they could confirm it was not working. If they no longer carry that model of the ps3, they would give me store credit equivalent to the amount I paid.

A month afterward, they changed the policy without letting me know. My ps3 has recently stopped working. I brought it into the store and they said they will be able to send it in to be fixed or I will receive a used, refurbished ps3. I told him that was not the agreement at the time of purchase. I only purchased the service because of the benefits it promises. However, they have changed the service and took away all of the benefits. The manager refused to give me what I originally purchased saying in the agreement there was the phrase "subject to change".

I would be okay with the refurbished ps3 if i would get the 1 year warranty from the manufacturer. However, i would only get the amount of time left on the original warranty I purchased with best buy. whereas if i did get the new ps3 like i was originally promised I would get the full 1 year warranty from sony themselves.