• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DO I need a business to write a book?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ataylor123

State: Nevada

Hello,

My name is Alan and I am currently a novel writer in Nevada. My partner and I are planning on publishing our first novel electronically. Our partnership is 55/45, and I am curious if we need to form any kind of business, LLC, or anything to complete this venture.

I am asking because for tax purposes and such, I assume I cannot just publish the book and get 100% of the earnings, and just give 45% to my partner as a "gift."

What is the best way to go about doing this?

Thanks in advance for any comments.

LdiJ

State: Nevada

Hello,

My name is Alan and I am currently a novel writer in Nevada. My partner and I are planning on publishing our first novel electronically. Our partnership is 55/45, and I am curious if we need to form any kind of business, LLC, or anything to complete this venture.

I am asking because for tax purposes and such, I assume I cannot just publish the book and get 100% of the earnings, and just give 45% to my partner as a "gift."

What is the best way to go about doing this?

Thanks in advance for any comments.
You are automatically a partnership. You can set up an LLC if you like. If you are not going to be equal partners, then an LLC would be a good idea.

ataylor123

I am really confused on LLC's.

My long time friend and I are planning to write a book together. The cut is 55/45.

There is no issue with trust between us, I am just confused about how to handle the money.

Do I need to form a business entity?