• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Independent Contractor / Surpise Business Owner

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I started working from home for a company doing over the phone consulting in 2009. I didn't realize that I was considered an independent contractor vs an employee until it was tax time. At the beginning of 2011 I started working for a second company doing the same thing, also as an independent contractor. During this last tax season I became more aware that as an independent contractor, I am basically a self-employed sole proprietor (let me know if I'm wrong please) and was going to look into finding out if there was something special I'm supposed to be doing as a business owner. I used Turbo Tax Home and Business to do my taxes last year and I believe I did everything correctly. Now I was looking into opening an individual 401k and they want an EIN and as a sole proprietor, the document filed to form the proprietorship. I don't have an EIN or any document filed to form a sole proprietorship, so I started wondering if there is anything else I'm supposed to have / do that I'm missing.

Was I supposed to file a document to form the sole proprietorship with someone prior to starting working?

Are they talking about a business permit?

Do I need a business permit?

What else might I be missing / should be thinking about, as I don't want to get myself into trouble down the road?

HomeGuru

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA